Best Times to Post to Your Blog and Social Media

Cole Wiebe
August 27, 2014
Read time: 2 minutes

In my coaching and consulting I'm often asked what the best times are for releasing blog posts and for posting to "the big four" in social media: Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and LinkedIn.

Newspapers around the globe have the paper waiting on the porch to go with the first cup of coffee in the morning. The general consensus among bloggers is to have the post up before 7:00 am.

Social media is a bit trickier. Here you want to time your posts so your readers will come across them as they skim their social media wall or feed. Time the release incorrectly and your readers would have to scroll down way too far to ever spot your content.

For much of our in-house and client work, we use the Buffer app to time-release social posts at optimal times, based upon the content volume.

To determine the very best times to post I again checked what Buffer has to say about posting times and frequency.

https://twitter.com/buffer/status/491781752592269312,
http://blog.bufferapp.com/?s=best+times+to+post,
http://blog.bufferapp.com/social-media-frequency-guide

Here's a quick summary of the information:

Facebook

2 times a day, 7 days a week, 10:08 am and 3:04 pm.

Twitter

14 times a day, Monday through Friday, 10:00 pm PT (midnight CT) to 8:00 pm PT (10:00 pm CT) the following day. Maximum 1 post per hour.

On weekends, reduce the posts to 7 times a day, 1:00 am PT (3:00 am CT) to 7:00 pm (9:00 pm CT) - roughly every 3 hours.

Google+

2 times a day, 9:03 am and 7:04 pm. Don't bother posting on weekends.

LinkedIn

Once a day, 8:14 am. Again, don't bother posting on weekends.

Final thoughts

Have you discovered your own "sweet spot" for getting content in front of readers? Or is there a tool you like to use to release your posts at the optimal times? I welcome your questions and comments below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 comments on “Best Times to Post to Your Blog and Social Media”

  1. For real estate I prefer pinterest and twitter more during weekends. I have been getting a lot of traffic from pinterest especially during weekends afternoon. As for other social media I haven't discovered any best time to post content on them and will follow your tips.

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram